1250 N. Eglin Parkway, Suite 101 Shalimar, FL 32579

> 310 Van Matre Ave. Building 210, Suite 179 Eglin AFB, FL 32542

701 E. John Sims Parkway Niceville, FL 32578



4012 Commons Dr. West, Unit 122

Destin, FL 32541

302 N. Wilson St. Suite 101

Crestview, FL 32536

120 Simpson Ave.

Building 90320, Room 111

Hurlburt Field, FL 32544

BEN ANDERSON

OKALOOSA COUNTY TAX COLLECTOR

www.OkaloosaTax.com (850) 651-7300

PRESS RELEASE

KIDS TAG ART PROGRAM DELIVERS \$10,400.00 TO 13 PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS

April 22, 2019

Press Release 19-00

Contact: Shari Bruns (media inquiries only) 850-651-7669 <u>SBruns@OkaloosaTax.com</u>

<u>Shalimar, FL</u> – About two dozen Okaloosa County elementary students and their families waited with excitement to hear their names announced in front of the packed School Board room. The recognition came from Okaloosa County Tax Collector Ben Anderson as he presented the Kids Tag Art Award of Distinction winners, two each from thirteen participating schools. Principals of the participating schools were also all smiles when they heard that each of their schools would be receiving an additional \$800.00 from Kids Tag Art program sponsors.

The Kids Tag Art program is a partnership with the Tax Collector's Office and the School District. The program has contributed \$64,367.00 to participating schools since 2013. As an art project, this program gives students a chance to create their own specialty license plate. As a fundraiser, those created plates can be purchased by parents and the public where the proceeds from school sales stay in that school.

Combining in-school sales and local sponsorships, the Kids Tag Art program earned \$17,624.00 this year. Tax Collector Ben Anderson says, "This is non-tax generated revenue and comes at a time when money for art curriculum is hard to find." He continues, "In the coming weeks we will be delivering \$800.00 checks to each participating school. This is possible because of the generous support of our sponsors: The Okaloosa County Sheriff's Office, AFLAC with Leo Tisa and Corporate Benefits, Inc."

Award of Distinction winners are:

| Bluewater Elementary: Alexandra Wirsing Olivia Jernigan | <u>Destin Elementary:</u> Stella Scoma | Edge Elementary: Annabella Duque Sophia Sikora |
|---|---|--|
| Elliott Point: | Florosa Elementary: | Lewis Middle: |
| Kallie Sage | Kyliegh Cooley | Emily Mills |
| Victoria Higginson | Janelle Johnson | Jordyn Friley |
| Liza Jackson Preparatory: | Northwood Elementary: | Plew Elementary: |
| Katie Eubanks | Priscilla Antunez | Caitlin Scroggs |
| Anna Abernathy | Khamauri Hardy | Sadie Carter |
| Riverside Elementary: | Shalimar Elementary: | Walker Elementary: |
| Emily Gailey | Wendy Martinez | Izel Fitzpatrick |
| Alayna Ruth | Emily LaPoint | Angelisa Sierra |

Tax Collector's Choice: Zachary Gideons – Plew Elementary **Sheriff's Choice:** Destini Howard – Northwood Elementary