1250 N. Eglin Parkway, Suite 101 Shalimar, FL 32579

> 310 Van Matre Ave. Building 210, Suite 179 Eglin AFB, FL 32542

120 Simpson Ave. Building 90320, Room 111 Hurlburt Field, FL 32544



302 N. Wilson Street, Suite 101 Crestview, FL 32536

701 E. John Sims Parkway Niceville, FL 32578

4012 Commons Dr. West, Unit 122 Destin, FL 32541

Customer Service Processing Center (850) 651-7300

BEN ANDERSON OKALOOSA COUNTY TAX COLLECTOR

OkaloosaTax.com

PRESS RELEASE

KIDS TAG ART PROGRAM BREAKS \$100k

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 14, 2021 Press Release 21-01 Contact: Shari Bruns (media inquiries only) | 850-651-7669 | SBruns@OkaloosaTax.com

Shalimar, FL_- Okaloosa County Tax Collector Ben Anderson was joined by Superintendent Marcus Chambers and Sheriff Eric Aden in presenting certificates to three Choice Award winners before the School Board meeting Monday night during the Kids Tag Art program presentation. The remaining 20 Award of Distinction winners received their certificates prior to the end of the 2020-21 school year and are listed below.

The Kids Tag Art program is a partnership with the Tax Collector's Office and the School District. Since the program started in 2013, it has generated \$103,195.22 for participating schools. As an art project, this program gives students a chance to create their own specialty license plate. As a fundraiser, those student-created plates can be purchased by parents and the proceeds from school sales stay in that school.

Combining in-school sales and local sponsorships, the Kids Tag Art program earned **\$10,655.16** this Spring. Tax Collector Ben Anderson points out, "This is non-tax generated revenue and comes at a time when the art curriculum in schools could benefit the most." He continues, "Each school that participated this Spring received checks for \$500.00, as the result of the generous support of our sponsor: The Okaloosa County Sheriff's Office." The Kids Tag Art program will kick off again in August for the upcoming school year. If you or your business are interested in becoming a sponsor, please contact Shari Bruns at 850-651-7669.

Complete list of Award of Distinction winners are:			
Bluewater:	Bob Sikes:	Destin Elementary:	Edge:
Carter Vargo	Bennett Muhlbach	Anna Kate Hall	Katelyn Romero
Jaidyn Feddon	Grace Holley	Jessica McPherson	Evelyn McElvaine
Elliott Point:	Northwood:	Riverside:	Shalimar:
Janie Sirmans	Oliver Jackson	Naylani Parker	Georgia Pierce
Kristin Fransted	Nathaniel Horton	Annalee Gonzales	Gabriel Hammett
Silver Sands:	Walker:	Tax Collector's Choice: Maila Martin – Northwood	
Hayden Douglas	Caliber Chessher	Sheriff's Choice: Thomas Cheek – Elliott Point	
Gabriel Lockhart	Caleb Arvanetes	Superintendent's Choice: Emma Amador – Riverside	

omplote list of Award of Distinction winners are

