

## PRESS RELEASE

April 24, 2023 Press Release 23-00

Contact: Shari Bruns (media inquiries only) 850-651-7669 <a href="mailto:SFBruns@OkaloosaTax.com">SFBruns@OkaloosaTax.com</a>

<u>Shalimar, FL</u> – A room full of parents and students were on hand at the Okaloosa County School Board meeting Monday evening to support the Award of Distinction winners of the Kids Tag Art Program contest. There to present the winning certificates was Okaloosa County Tax Collector Ben Anderson, Superintendent Marcus Chambers and Under Sheriff Charlie Nix. Two winners from each participating elementary school in the District were recognized.

The Kids Tag Art program is a partnership with the Tax Collector's Office, the School District and the Okaloosa County Sheriff's Office. Since the program started in 2013, it has generated \$137,042.00 for participating schools. As an art project, this program gives students a chance to create their own specialty license plate to use as art or on the front of a vehicle. As a fundraiser, those student-created, custom plates can be purchased by parents and the proceeds from school sales stay in that school.

Combining in-school sales and local sponsorships, the Kids Tag Art program earned \$17,256.19 this school year. Tax Collector Ben Anderson points out, "This is non-tax generated revenue and comes at a time when the art curriculum in schools could benefit the most." He continues, "Each school that participated will be receiving checks for \$850.00 as the result of the generous support of our sponsor: The Okaloosa County Sheriff's Office."

Visit <u>OkaloosaTax.com</u> and click on the Tag Art Gallery where you can view and purchase any of the winning tags. To be a sponsor, please contact Shari Flowers Bruns at 850-651-7669. This year's winners are:

<u>Bluewater:</u>	<u>Bob Sikes:</u>	<u>Edge:</u>	Elliott Point:
Lillian Gorrell	Audriana Heaton	Anna Higgs	Kiley Cole
Aubree Michaud	Addison Davis	Saphyra Nieves	Nahum Wesley
<u>Kenwood:</u>	Northwood:	<u>Plew:</u>	<u>Shalimar:</u>
Mason Moeller	Camryn Barnard	Madison Hayes	Erin Miller
Savannah Wilson	Elfer Charpentier	Corbyn Damron	Liam Gertis
Silver Sands: Aiden Younger Iker Galvan	Southside Primary: Elliana Douglas Gracie Golloher	<u>Walker:</u> Hanna Acello Addison Davidson	

Tax Collector's Choice – Jaxon Dark (Edge)
Sheriff's Choice – Sophie Zapf (Plew)
Superintendent's Choice – Jaxon Dark (Edge)